India’s squad for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

India women cricket team. (Photo by William WEST, Credit : AFP)

India has announced its 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023.

Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the team for the third consecutive time, with Smriti Mandhana serving as her deputy.

Pacer Shikha Pandey, who last played a T20I in October 2021, makes her return to the squad for the marquee event. 

Pooja Vastrakar suffered an injury ahead of the series against Australia earlier this month. Though she has been named in the squad, her inclusion is subject to fitness. Anjali Sarvani, the left-arm pacer who made her debut in the T20I series against Australia, also finds a place in the squad.

Opener Sabbhineni Meghana, all-rounder Sneh Rana and fast bowler Meghna Singh are among the reserves.

Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Richa Ghosh, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey.

Reserves: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh.

India has been placed in Group B for the upcoming tournament, alongside England, Ireland, Pakistan, and West Indies. Their World Cup campaign begins on 12 February with a match against Pakistan in Cape Town. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals.

India reached the finals of the last T20 World Cup in 2020 but were unfortunately defeated by Australia. Harmanpreet Kaur and the team will be looking to replicate their previous performances and go even further when they head to South Africa.